The Six Bach Cello Suites
The"Anna Magdalena" manuscripts,
the Lute Version autograph of Suite No. 5,
related articles

Below, for your reading and study, are facsimile copies of the Six Cello Suites, believed to have been made by Bach's second wife Anna Magdalena. Hers is one of four manuscript copies of the Suites. They have been published in several modern editions.

The Suite No. 5 in C Minor is the only suite for which a Bach autograph still exists. This is an ornamented version for lute that gives us a rare glimpse of performance possibilities of this . complex piece.

You will also find a link here to a lecture-preview of a performance of mine at the Victoria Music Festival in Canada in which I discuss many of these issues. Over time other related material of interest will be shown.

Suite No. 1 in G Major
Suite No. 2 in D Minor
Suite No. 3 in C Major
Suite No. 4 in E Flat Major
Suite No. 5 in C Minor
Suite for Lute in G Minor
Suite No. 6 in D Major

"Bach's C Minor Suite Was Written This Morning" by Harry Wimmer
(reprinted from the Violoncello Society Newsletter Spring 1992)

Return toLibrary - Reading RoomPablo CasalsHome

Materials currently available:

"The Golden Treasure of San Juan"
"Casals Lives On in Puerto Rico"
The Six Bach Cello Suites (ms)
"Bach's C Minor Suite Was Written This Morning"
"Bach on the Bayou"

Learn more about

The Joy of Cello Playing
Books available online from:

This site created and maintained by Harry Wimmer ( Thanks to Shirley Givens ( for her imaginative illustrations. Thanks to Kevin Wimmer ( for his selfless and expert assistance.
Design and content ©1999 - 2006 by Harry Wimmer. Artwork ©1999 by Shirley Givens.
All materials on this website are limited to personal, non-commercial use.